March 20, 2012

  • myshadow This is my Shadow. We first met him at the home of his breeder. We had another Pomeranian named Prissy, and she needed a companion. She was about 8 weeks old at the time. Her littermate that we bought along with her had died. So off we went to look for a friend for her.

    This woman had an ad for pom pups. We got there and she had a couple of litters on a screened in porch. We could choose from any of them but she seemed to be pushing us toward Shadow. He was really bigger than the others. But she really didn’t seem to like him, and we did, so our choice was made. He and Prissy became best friends. When they play fight it’s all growling and pretend biting of fur (never each other). Lots of fun.

    For a while I took them to a groomer, but that got expensive, so I started grooming them myself. Shadow HATES having anything beyond his back legs brushed. He doesn’t bite, but will grab me with his teeth (what else is he going to use?) and try to make my hands move away. The problem is that his fur back there gets matted too easily.

    A few months ago we agreed to adopt 2 more dogs. An elderly woman was having to move in with her son and his family because of dementia and needed to find a home for her 8 year old poodle and 4 year old pom. So we took them in. Poodles don’t shed (yay!!!) but Poms do and now we have 3 of the little critters. I can vacuum 3 times a day and still have black fur on the carpet!

    So I finally told Greg I wanted Shadow shaved down. The other 2 aren’t hard to bath and brush (except that the newest one, Nikki, hides from me….she hates baths!). He wasn’t too sure about it, but know I do the grooming and housecleaning, he agreed.

    This is the result shadow after  of the trip to the groomer. He is so happy! I guess his fur was hotter than I thought…he’s acting like he does when it turns cold! Just jumping and playing. He looks really odd, but we’ll get used to it.

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *